Cambridge English
Email the Help Centre

2013 Inter-Link Language Centre (Pusat Bahasa Gabungan)

At ILC, we provide a preparatory classes throughout the years for all students that wish to sit for any Cambridge ESOL exams such as YLE, KET, PET, FCE, CAE, CPE, BEC (all levels), ICFE, ILEC and TKT .Passing a Cambridge ESOL exam is not the end of the story - when students receive their certificate they open the door to a world of opportunities.

Whatever you want to use your language skills for, the recognition which comes with our certificates will help you to turn your ambitions into reality:
Living Abroad

Cambridge ESOL offers the world's leading range of certificates for learners and teachers of English - taken by over 3 million people in 130 countries. They help people gain entrance to university or college, improve job prospects or measure progress in English. More than 8,500 employers, universities and government bodies around the world recognized Cambridge ESOL certificate as proof of English language proficiency.

The Cambridge ESOL examinations are certificated qualifications which have no expiry date. Other language tests have a life span of only twenty four (24) months and the test result offers no assurance that the standard achieved in the test is sustainable. This in itself demonstrates the confidence Cambridge have in the validity and value of their qualifications.

To achieve a pass in any of these advanced examinations, learners must have a level of proficiency in English which is both sound and progressively closer to the level of an educated native speaker. English at the different levels of proficiency are also provided from Levels 1 to 5 based on the prestigious Cambridge English suite for Speakers of Other Languages suite. They are based on reading, writing, listening and speaking. These are as follows:

Level 1: Elementary Level: Key English Test (KET)
Level 2: Lower Intermediate Level: Preliminary English Test (PET)
Level 3: Upper Intermediate Level: First Certificate in English (FCE)
Level 4: Lower Advanced Level: Certificate of Advanced English (CAE)
Level 5: Upper Advanced Level: Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE)
Children: Young Learners Award (YLE)
Business: Business Communication (BEC) 
Teachers: Teachers Knowledge Test (TKT)

The Common European Framework of Reference.
This internationally recognized framework describes language ability in a scale of levels which ranges from A1 for beginners to C2 for those who have mastered a language.

Cambridge ESOL qualifications are plotted against the six levels of the framework. See the diagram below for International English Language Proficiency Levels.

Guided Learning Hours

Cambridge ESOL is often asked about the number of study hours required to reach a certain examination level. It is not possible to give a categorical answer to this, as hours of study required will vary depending upon several factors such as the candidates' language learning background, the intensity of the study, the inclinations and age of the individual as well as the amount of study/exposure outside of lesson times. The following figures are, however, sometimes quoted as an approximate guideline:

Common European Framework (CEFR Diagram)

Framework Guided Learning Hours

Approximately 180-200

Approximately 350-400

Approximately 500-600

Approximately 700-800

Approximately 1,000-1,200

This makes it easy for anyone involved in language teaching and testing (learners, teachers, teacher trainers etc.) to see the level of different qualifications. It also means that employers and educational institutions can easily compare qualifications and see how they relate to exams they already know in their own country.

Aprroved by: